The French Agency for AlUla Development is pleased to announce that five era-defining artworks will become part of new cultural destination Wadi AlFann, Valley of the Arts, AlUla

A render of Ashab Al-Lal by Ahmed Mater at Wadi AlFann, AlUla

AlUla, Monday 27 June 2022 – The Royal Commission for AlUla reveals plans for Wadi AlFann, meaning ‘Valley of the Arts’, an awe-inspiring new global cultural destination for contemporary art, where era-defining works by some of the most compelling artists from around the world will be permanently placed in the monumental landscape of AlUla, the extraordinary desert region of north-west Saudi Arabia steeped in thousands of years of natural, historical and cultural heritage.

Read More

AlUla, the new Saudi El Dorado co-developed by the Royal Commission for AlUla (RCU) and the French Agency for AlUla development (AFALULA)

With 34 million inhabitants in an area of over 2 million square kilometers, Saudi Arabia is the largest country in the Middle East, covering two-thirds of the Arabian Peninsula on its own. A territory 4.5 times larger than France, which opened its doors to the world in 2019 and revealed previously hidden treasures like AlUla. This region, located in the province of Medina in the northwest of the country, is at the heart of the ambitious and modern development plan named “Vision 2030”, driven by HRH Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman and implemented by the Kingdom since 2016.

Read More

The first edition of AlUla Art Residency closes with artists premiering contemporary works inspired by the historic oasis of AlUla

After eleven-weeks of exploration and experimentation, the first AlUla Art Residency programme, under the theme of ‘The Oasis Reborn’, has successfully concluded this weekend.

During three days of open studios, artists’ works – ranging from experimental sculptures to large-scale site specific or multimedia installations – were displayed in Mabiti AlUla and its surrounding palmgrove, inviting visitors to immerse themselves into the historical and cultural oasis of AlUla.

The artworks of the artists will also be displayed at the occasion of AlUla Arts festival taking place in AlUla from February 13 to February 26, 2022.

Read More

Thales and the Royal Commission for AlUla sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for smart and sustainable city development

The French group Thales has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with The Royal Commission for AlUla – the remarkable natural and cultural heritage destination in north-west Saudi Arabia – to implement its smart and sustainable city.

With a strong track record in delivering solutions that support smart, livable and sustainable cities, Thales will provide the Royal Commission with innovation excellence, technological expertise and global experience to support the ambition of becoming a global benchmark destination in sustainable development and as a place to visit, live and work.

Read More

The Journey Through Time Masterplan marks a major step in protecting and sharing the AlUla cultural and heritage site with the world

Masterplan « Voyage à travers le temps »

Five unique districts, connected by a 20km-long public realm called the Wadi of Hospitality, will protect 200,000 years of natural and human history across the 20km-long core historical area of AlUla, a unique cultural landscape located in north-west Arabia, encompassing a wadi (seasonal river valley) and culminating in the Nabataean city of Hegra, a UNESCO…

Read More

L’Agence française pour le développement d’AlUla est heureuse d’annoncer que cinq œuvres d’art révolutionnaires viendront intégrer la nouvelle destination culturelle emblématique de Wadi AlFann, alias « la vallée des arts », à AlUla

A render of Ashab Al-Lal by Ahmed Mater at Wadi AlFann, AlUla

AlUla, lundi 27 juin 2022 – La Commission Royale pour AlUla dévoile les plans de Wadi AlFann, une expression arabe signifiant « vallée des arts ». Cette nouvelle destination culturelle embrasera le monde de l’art contemporain et comptera des œuvres marquantes de certains des artistes les plus fascinants au monde. Elles seront placées de manière permanente dans le paysage monumental d’AlUla, une extraordinaire région désertique du nord-ouest de l’Arabie saoudite, imprégnée de milliers d’années de patrimoine naturel, historique et culturel.

Lire la suite

AlUla, le nouvel eldorado saoudien co-développé par la Commission Royale pour AlUla (RCU) et l’Agence française pour le développement d’AlUla (AFALULA)

Avec 34 millions d’habitants sur une superficie de plus de deux millions de kilomètres carrés, l’Arabie saoudite est le plus important pays du Moyen-Orient, couvrant à elle seule les deux tiers de la péninsule arabique. Un territoire 4,5 fois plus grand que la France, qui s’ouvre au monde depuis 2019 et révèle des trésors jusqu’alors cachés comme AlUla. Cette région située dans la province de Médine au Nord-Ouest du pays est au cœur du plan de développement ambitieux et moderne nommé « Vision 2030 », porté par S.A.R. le Prince héritier Mohammed bin Salman et mis en place par le Royaume depuis 2016.

Lire la suite

Clôture de la première édition de la résidence d’artistes d’AlUla, avec une présentation en avant-première des œuvres des artistes, inspirées par l’oasis historique d’AlUla

Après onze semaines de recherche et d’expérimentation, le premier programme de résidence d’artistes d’AlUla, centré autour du thème « Renaissance de l’oasis », s’est achevé avec succès ce week-end.

Pendant trois journées de portes ouvertes, les œuvres des artistes, allant de sculptures expérimentales à des installations multimédias ou monumentales propres au site, ont été exposées à Mabiti AlUla et dans la palmeraie environnante, invitant les visiteurs à s’immerger dans l’oasis historique et culturelle d’AlUla.

Les œuvres des artistes seront également exposées lors du festival AlUla Arts, qui se tiendra à AlUla du 13 au 26 février 2022.

Lire la suite

Thales et la Commission Royale pour AlUla signent un protocole d’accord pour faire d’AlUla un territoire intelligent et durable

La Commission Royale pour AlUla a signé un protocole d’accord instaurant un partenariat technologique et stratégique de long terme avec le groupe français Thales. Fort de son expérience, Thales apportera à la Commission Royale son expertise, son savoir-faire technologique et sa capacité de R&D. Le groupe contribuera ainsi à la transformation d’AlUla en une destination…

Lire la suite